Skip to main content


How it started

In response to a broad series of focus groups conducted in 2010, the Council on Student Experience established a number of working groups to address the main themes that emerged from the qualitative survey.  One of these groups addressed school spirit and engagement and put forward a strong recommendation that the University explore in depth the feasibility of an official co-curricular record (see U of T's Response to In Their Own Words: Understanding the Undergraduate Student Experience at the University of Toronto, July, 2010). In late 2011, a group of eighteen faculty, staff and students from across the three campuses were invited by the Assistant Vice President, Student Life to participate in a two day planning session to discuss the development of a co-curricular record.  In advance of this meeting, research was undertaken to document practices and processes at universities across Canada regarding their implementation of a co-curricular record.  This information, along with other briefing documents, was shared with the Advisory Committee.

The Advisory Committee recommended establishing four working groups to focus on:

  • Developing criteria for eligible activities
  • Developing competencies to attach to activities
  • Establishing validation processes and work flow processes
  • Determining systems and technology needs

Throughout the summer 2012, four working groups have been focusing on developing the CCR. The working groups have been representative, including staff, faculty, and students from across the institution.


Throughout the 2012-2013 year, there was an extensive consultation that engaged students, staff, and faculty across the three campuses, faculties, colleges, and units. With over 175 meetings and counting, the CCR process has been consultative and collaborative. For the fall 2013 launch, there will be 32 units that will be collecting activities and participating in the CCR process.

Decentralized Process

These "local units" include the campuses, colleges, independent residences, faculties, and other units:

University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM) Faculty of Medicine
University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) Faculty of Music
Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering New College
John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape & Design Faculty of Nursing
Faculty of Arts & Science Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Central Administration Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
Chestnut Residence Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Dentistry Rotman Commerce
Family Housing School of Graduate Studies
Graduate House St. Michaels College
Hart House Student Life (St. George)
Faculty of Information Trinity College
Innis College University Advancement
Interprofessional Education University College
Faculty of Kinesiology & Physical Education Victoria University
Faculty of Law Woodsworth College


Each of these local units will have "Local Evaluation Committee," which is responsible for the local operations of the Co-Curricular Record. The Local Evaluation Committee will evaluate activity submissions and determine if an activity is approved, denied, or returned for further review, and may defer submissions to the Institutional Evaluation Committee if needed. They will confirm and recommend validators.